SXSW-DAY 1

My trip to SXSW started at 3:30am when my alarm went off, now I know that’s really early to get up for a 7:25am flight but I’m one of those people who worries about missing flights when they are early so I have a bad habit of getting up way to early.  So after several cups of coffee and diet pop I made my way from metro airport through Dallas to beautiful Austin, TX.  For those of you who do not know what SXSW is here is a brief explanation: The South by Southwest® (SXSW®) Conferences & Festivals offer the unique convergence of original music, independent films, and emerging technologies. Fostering creative and professional growth alike, SXSW® is the premier destination for discovery.  Year after year, the event is a launching pad for new creative content. New media presentations, music showcases and film screenings provide buzz-generating exposure for creators and compelling entertainment for audiences. Conference panel discussions present a forum for learning, business activity thrives at the Trade Shows and global networking opportunities abound. Austin serves as the perfect backdrop for SXSW®, where career development flourishes amid the relaxed atmosphere. Intellectual and creative intermingling among industry leaders continues to spark new ideas and carve the path for the future of each ever-evolving field, long after the events’ conclusion.

I caught the shuttle over to the Austin convention center which serves as the central hub from this week, it’s very overwhelming when you get to

the convention center.  It is equivalent to a beehive it is constant movement and energy going on inside and you really have no idea where to look or what to do.  The one thing that it for sure is that it is an inspirational place.  It is fill with people of all ages who are innovative and outgoing,  The minds of people who will help shape what our interactive technology world is going to look like in the future and people will transform how we work with our constituents.

After checking in I heading over to Mellow Johnny’s BIke shop (Lance Armstrong’s shop) for the Chevy Tweethouse networking event.  I met up with members of the winning Detroit Chevy SXSW road trip team and fellow Spartan alums Henry Balanon and Audrey Walker.  THis was a great way to start the week because I got a chance to meet some folks who are on the leading edge of interactive technology.  Henry is a technology rockstar and he knows everyone so he made it quite easy for me by constantly introducing me to new people.

Later on that night I grab a bike cab with Henry and some other alumni and headed over to Third Base which is the official Spartan bar in Austin.

We met up with a great group of Spartans to watch the quarterfinal game of the Big Ten Tournament.  Now even though MSU lost in overtime we had a great time and I’m looking forward to spending some more time with our Austin regional club today.

So that’s it Day 1 complete after being awake for 21 hours I was a little tired so I couldn’t blog last night and I didn’t have much video from yesterday because I was traveling most of the day.  But I will ramp up my efforts today and get some video and photos to show everyone what’s going on down here.

You can follow my day at twitter.com/timbograkos

Leave a Reply

