Muhammad Ali Showed Me a Magic Trick and I Learned Three Life Lessons

I came running into the locker room after a normal pre-game warm up and standing in the middle of the room was Muhammad Ali.

Now to say I was a little shocked would be an understatement.

After the initial shock wore off, I was standing there having a conversation with one of the most influential people in history. From what I remember it was a surface level conversation and it even included some magic tricks but it was the experience of sharing time with such a great person that had the most impact.

I often think back on that encounter when people ask me who the most famous person I’ve ever been lucky enough to meet is. It doesn’t get any better than someone who not only excelled in their chosen sport but stood up with conviction for their beliefs.

Muhammad Ali taught us many things through his words and his actions; I’ve continually gone back to his lessons so I could continue to grow. Below you’ll find a few of my favorite lessons and quotes from the champ.

Suffer Now

“I run on the road, long before I dance under the lights. I hated every minute of training but I said ‘don’t quit’. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.”

Desire, Dream, Visualize

“Champions aren’t made in gyms. Champions are made from something they have deep inside them – a desire, a dream, a vision.”

Embrace Change

“A man who views the world at fifty the same way he did at twenty wasted thirty years.”

Leave a Reply

