Champions are Built on a Thousand Invisible Mornings

Luck = Preparation + Opportunity

My mom had a piece of paper on our refrigerator with this written on it for as long as I can remember. So I started thinking the other day about all the times I had been lucky and how much that quote is actually true. I’m worried that people are recognizing that work has to be done prior to you getting your opportunity. We’ve all heard the saying “it’s better to be lucky than good.” Too me the lucky person was just the one who was ready when his chance came.

It’s kind of a dirty little secret that people aren’t sure is true but I believe wholeheartedly. Opportunity is going to come for everyone and when it does show up you better be ready to take advantage. There is a sign in the football building on MSU’s campus that says “Champions are built on a thousand invisible mornings.”

And that revels the question that you need to be asking yourself. Am I doing everything I can to make sure I’m ready when my opportunity final arrives? Are you putting in the repetitions necessary to remove your brain from the process and let your body flow on to autopilot?

When your opportunity does show be ready to take your shot. As much as it sucks to recognize your opportunity and fail to grasp it, it’s even worse to have the regret of never taking a shot.

Leave a Reply

