Daily Archives: March 13, 2016

Do You Really? – One of my favorite anecdotes about entitlement

I love the anecdote below.  It was shared by Suzy Merchant head women’s basketball coach at an event I was at and I never forgot it.  I love how it highlights that none of us are entitled to outcomes, only the opportunity to take part on the process.

A man pulls up to a golf course at 7am.

When he gets out to the driving range he sees one other guy

This other man has empty buckets all around his area

As he stands there watching he notices the perfection of his swing

He stands there for 10 minutes and finally he gets the courage to say something

“I’d love to hit a ball like you

The other gentleman stops, looks back and answers

“Do you really”

“Do you really want to be out here at 4am every morning hitting balls for 3 hours?”

“Do you want to go to a job you hate at 8am everyday just to put food on the table and a roof over your head?”

“Do you want to come back to the range after that job and hit more balls until your hands are bloody?”

“Do you really want to do what it takes?”

None of us are entitled to the outcome

The only thing guaranteed is the work

Next time you find something you think you really want ask yourself

Do I really want the work it takes to truly be great?

 

