Protecting your No

You’re not driving my car and I’m not follow you’re map.

It’s one of my favorite phrases and let me tell you why. I spent a lot of time of the years with an overall feeling that I needed to act a certain way or be interested in certain things based solely on how I thought other people wanted to see me act or express interest. I’ve literally changed behavioral patterns because I didn’t think it fit into how I was being viewed.

That kind of mentality can put you into a very confused place of fighting the urge to do things you don’t want to do or continue to put forward a façade. It’s taken time to combat that thought process and one of the most helpful tools I’ve used is one of the shortest but most difficult words to use in the English language…..NO.

The word no is one of the most difficult words for people to use because it can put you in a position to feel like you’re letting people down or you’re going to be missing out. The real issue is that people spend so much of time doing and effort being a part of things they don’t want to do.

Controlling your no is one of the easiest ways to control the path you want to take. Giving away your no is the same as giving away your time and that’s the most valuable asset you have.

Leave a Reply

